QTH   Club News   About Us   Where are we?   Other Interesting Links   Newsletters   What is amateur radio?    TX Factor   Gallery   

Click on the tabs for the dropdown menu
Gallery still under construction

John ZS5J, who was not present when the above photo was taken.

ZARC Inauguration 15th February 1995

On the 15th February 1995, a group of Amateur Radio operators in the greater Zululand area, after a lot of discussion via the then, 145.325 Eshowe & the 145.450 Empangeni repeaters, agreed to come together at the home of Dave, ZS5NUF, and his wife Penny, in Richards Bay. This to resolve the formation of a Zululand branch of the South African Radio League, to represent all the Zululand Radio Hams in all South African Radio League matters.

All present agreed to this, and also to apply for a radio licence for our branch, so that we could take part in radio competitions in the name of the Zululand Branch. After a short discussion, it was agreed to apply for the call sign of ZS5ZLB. ( Zulu Land Branch).

The founder members that attended that inaugural meeting were:

Dave Greening ZS5NUF,

Willie Axford ZS5WI,

Jo Snyders ZR5PO,

Peter Linington ZS5RX,

Helmut Viereckl ZS5EP,

Rayne Meyer ZR5ACC,

Terry Pattinson ZR5TP,

Brian Utterson ZR5AEU,

Peter Hardman ZS5PH,

John Kramer ZS5J.

When the SARL eventually relinquished the “branch system”, we then changed the name to the Zululand Amateur Radio Club, and we then affiliated to the SARL.
Both the repeaters in Zululand, in those days, were all owned and maintained by the then Pietermaritzburg Branch of the SARL The Zululand Branch eventually, after discussion with the PMB branch, took over the licensing of these repeaters, and also the maintenance of them.

Some years later, when the South African Band Plan regulations changed, our repeater frequencies also had to change to fall in line. The Eshowe repeater frequency was changed from 145.325 to 145.675, and the Empangeni repeater frequency was changed from 145.450 to 145.700.

The only remaining founder members, who are STILL members today, are,

Willie ZS5WI,

John ZS5J,

Jo ZS5PO (ex ZR5PO)

Brian ZS6AE (ex ZR5AEU).

Our first News letter editor was Dave greening, and our first secretary was Penny Greening. John Kramer was our first Vice chairman.

The club logo only came into being many years later, and was a group effort with many member suggested changes, before we settled on the final product you see today.

The first basic idea of the shield, was copied from the long defunct Zulu Coastal Citizen Band Club banner.